Author Topic: How to deal with too many parameters in UDF's  (Read 696 times)

uwmc

• View Profile
How to deal with too many parameters in UDF's
« on: February 20, 2015, 02:19:27 AM »
Hi,

I am new to pyxll. I wrote a function in python that needs to take 26 parameters which are in different type (i.e. string, float, date and cached_object). But in Excel this function cannot be accessed and no error message is shown in the log, so I am guessing the number of parameters exceeds the maximum allowed by Pyxll. Does anyone have a solution to this issue? Thank you very much! :)

Tony

• Administrator
    • View Profile
Re: How to deal with too many parameters in UDF's
« Reply #1 on: February 20, 2015, 10:39:15 AM »
Hi,

Excel *should* allow up to 255 arguments from Excel 2007, and up to 30 before that... and if there's no error in the log that suggests PyXLL thinks your function should be ok, but maybe it's failing to register with Excel for some other reason (possibly the limit is lower for macro sheet equivalent functions, which yours will be since you're using the cached_object example).

Anyway, for functions that take a large number of arguments I find it's often better to have the function take a table instead so that the arguments are laid out in the sheet - it can make things a bit clearer. For example, your function could take a table with two columns, the first column being the parameter names and the second column being their values. You would then process that table in your python code to get the actual function parameters (and can default any missing or return an error if they can't be defaulted).

As you need to pass different types, you can make the table of type "var[]" and use the pyxll function get_type_converter to convert from 'var' to whatever types you're expecting (see https://www.pyxll.com/docs/index.html?highlight=get_type_converter#pyxll.get_type_converter).